How to Overboard a Garden Side Gate?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, apologies if this is a really stupid question but as I am a rookie I am wondering how to get some privacy on my garden side gate with some plywood rather than spending hundreds of pounds on a new one I don't have. I have seen many others done like this as per photo but wondered how I would achieve the same? How and what fittings are used to hold the plywood overboard in place? The gate is really old and would be a oian to get off so wondered if you could offer any advice? Previously have cable tied bamboo as privacy but the pigeons made light work of it pulling it all out over time! Thank you for any help I appreciate it.
Screenshot_20240309_124552.jpg

Sponsored Links
Do you mean your existing gate is a metal one? Show us a pic of how it is constructed.

I think you could use large-headed screws, such as coach bolts, from the outside, placed to that the screws are against the sides of the steelwork to prevent the board bring moved, with matching washers and nuts on the other side, trapping the board. Coach bolts cannot be undone from the outside because they have no slot or hex.

If you use ply, it will delaminatie and fall apart if water gets between the plies, so paint all edges and holes with oil gloss and primer after cutting and drilling, but before assembly. If you use a small brush and thinned primer, you can get it to run into any cavities on the edge shen stood on end. If you can add a plastic or metal edging, all the better.

Sponsored Links
Thanks for your replies guys appreciated. How much is a sheet of ply these days and would you recommend to overboard with a different material instead? I'm not sure if I'm skilled enough to do the job myself as looked at replacement wooden gate from feather edge and was quoted £450.00 including fitting!

I'm not sure if I'm skilled enough to do the job myself